Andrey Fefelov

Mastery.pro

Chief Technical Officer

Postgres + patroni + consul + s3 + walg + ansible = Simple HA cluster

Patroni is getting art of state standard framework for building HA clusters with postgres now.

During session we will build simple 3 node cluster using mentioned stack.

We will discuss patroni's architecture, and most interesting parameters from it's configuration. We will check how actually failover works and how could you initialise cluster.

After session you will be able to built such cluster from scratch in minutes using given ansible playbooks.

Slides

Andrei Salnikov

Data Egret

DBA

Major upgrade for PostgreSQL

In this master class, I will take you step-by step through a major upgrade of PostgreSQL. Through our practice we see a lot of different PostgreSQL servers in production environment and often, almost too often teams who once made PostgreSQL their database of choice never update it following the initial installation. The are many different reasons for it, the result, however, is the same - they all miss out on the new useful features of the newer releases and reduced database performance.
The goal of my masterclass is to equip attendees with necessary tools for performing PostgreSQL upgrade. I will take you through each step of the major upgrade and will dive into each executed command. I will also explain the particular order in which I perform an upgrade and explain the consequences of not following this order or missing a particular step. We will perform an upgrade of PostgreSQL 9.0 to 11. My hope is that following this masterclass number of outdated PostgreSQL database will reduce since participants will then go back to their databases and make sure that they are running the most recent version.

Nikolay Ryzhikov

Health Samurai

CTO

Марат Сурмашев

Health Samurai

Программист

Using JSONB

JSONB in PostgreSQL has interesting properties for design and development of business systems with heavy domain, helping to fight against complexity and variability. We will discuss the trade-offs of the JSONB approach. Using an open source project for Health IT - fhirbase we will:

  • load synthetic medical data into PostgreSQL
  • learn how to search and index this data (gin, jsquery, json-knife)
  • use JSON aggregation to build complex queries (GraphQL)
  • see how this data can be modified and validated
  • discuss architecture consequences of JSONB usage

Technical requirements:

  • docker
  • docker-compose

Detailed prerequisites

Ivan Panchenko

Postgres Professional

Deputy Director General

NoSQL/PL: Programming in non-SQL-like procedural languages

Workshop on Server-Side development in procedural languages PL/Perl ,PL/Python, PL / v8 inside PostgreSQL and Postgres Pro. You will not only learn what they are for but also how to use them correctly and what results can be achieved using them.

Slides

Joshua Drake

Command Prompt, Inc.

Lead Consultant

Practical Postgres Replication

In this tutorial we will discuss Binary and Logical replication in a practitioner format. The topics that will be included are native Postgres replication technologies, configuring and managing them. We will also discuss performance and draw backs of various architectures (sync vs async etc...). At the end of this presentation the attendees will be able to configure a basic replication deployment with HOT Standby and well as have an understanding of other technologies such as Point in Time Recovery and cascading replication.

Joshua Drake

Command Prompt, Inc.

Lead Consultant

Postgres Performance and Maintenance

When you are optimizing Postgres it is usually maintenance that goes by the wayside. How do we fix autovacuum? Where did all of this bloat come from? Why am I getting IO spikes? How do I get RDS to behave?! Why are commits so slow on replication? The answer to all of these questions is understanding the relationship between proper Postgres maintenance and performance. Join us for a 3 hour jaunt through the wily world of making Postgres Go!

Miroslav Šedivý

solute GmbH

Senior Software Developer

Asynchronous Python and PostgreSQL Using asyncpg

Python may not be the fastest programming language on the CPU, but its fast and easy development saves a lot of costs between the keyboard and the chair. Since database clients spend most of their time waiting for a response from the database server, Python's asynchronous functionality available in the recent versions (3.5+) may help to optimize the application's runtime considerably by working on something else while server's response is being prepared. The asynchronous interface between Python and PostgreSQL is called "asyncpg". In the workshop we'll explore this library and write a short application using some of its useful features.

Miroslav Šedivý

solute GmbH

Senior Software Developer

Python and PostgreSQL Using psycopg2

Python may not be the fastest programming language on the CPU, but its fast and easy development saves a lot of costs between the keyboard and the chair. In this workshop we'll explore the most popular library for the access to the PostgreSQL server named "psycopg2" and write a short application using some of its useful features.

Álvaro Hernández

OnGres

Oracle to PostgreSQL Migration Tutorial

Stop paying for Larry’s boat!

PostgreSQL is a fully-featured, enterprise-grade and open source database, named two years in a row database of the year! And it’s also the best candidate to migrate off of Oracle, supporting very advanced SQL, easy administration and pl/pgsql, a replacement for Oracle’s PL/SQL. Stop spending hundreds of thousands or millions of $ on database licenses and reinvest them in your team, infrastructure and software.

Join this half-day tutorial to learn the best practices, tricks and tools to perform a successful Oracle to PostgreSQL migration. Learn from the team that performed 150M users Blackberry migration to PostgreSQL on GCP with near-zero downtime, and the key author behind orafce, a set of Oracle compatible functions on top of PostgreSQL.

Андрей Сальников

Data Egret

DBA

Мажорное обновление PostgreSQL

На данном мастер-классе будет показано мажорное обновление PostgreSQL. На практике сталкиваясь с большим количеством серверов PostgreSQL, наша компания видит, что многие команды разработки, однажды установив PostgreSQL, не поддерживают его версию в актуальном состоянии. Причин для этого много, а результат один - отказ от нового функционала базы данных и важных улучшений производительности. На мастер-классе я детально объясню каждый свой шаг, почему так делаю, почему именно в данной последовательности, и что будет, если пропустить этот пункт обновления. Обновляться будем на версию 11, с версии 9.0. В результате, я надеюсь, каждый из пришедших на мастер-класс, вернувшись к своим базам, проведет апгрейды их всех до 11 версии.

Иван Панченко

Postgres Professional

заместитель генерального директора

NoSQL/PL: Программирование на не SQL-образных процедурных языках

Мастер-класс по Server-Side разработке на процедурных языках PL/Perl ,PL/Python, PL/v8 в PostgreSQL и PostgresPro. Вы узнаете не только, для чего они нужны, но и как ими правильно пользоваться, и каких результатов можно достичь благодаря им.

Слайды

Николай Рыжиков

Health Samurai

CTO

Марат Сурмашев

Health Samurai

Программист

Эксплуатация JSONB

JSONB в PostgreSQL обладает рядом интересных свойств, которые могут пригодиться при проектировании и разработке бизнес-систем с тяжелой предметной областью, помогая бороться со сложностью и вариабельностью. На мастер-классе мы обсудим преимущества и недостатки использования JSONB. На примере открытой медицинской базы данных - fhirbase - мы с вами:

  • загрузим синтетические медицинские данные в PostgreSQL
  • научимся искать и индексировать эти данные (gin, jsquery, json-knife)
  • посмотрим, как использовать JSON агрегацию для постороения сложных запросов (GraphQL)
  • покажем, как эти данные можно модифицировать и валидировать
  • поговорим об архитектурных последствиях использования JSONB

Технические требования:

  • docker
  • docker-compose

Инструкция по подготовке

Андрей Фефелов

Mastery.pro

Технический директор

Простой отказоустойчивый кластер на postgres, patroni, consul, s3, walg, ansible

Patroni становится де-факто стандартом для построения отказоустойчивых кластеров Постгрес.

В мастер-классе мы построим простой отказоустойчивый кластер из 3х нод на перечисленном стеке (на первый взгляд не выглядит простым).

Мы кратко познакомимся с архитектурой patroni, обсудим наиболее интересные параметры конфигураций.

Посмотрим как работает файловер и какими способами можно проинициализировать кластер.

После мастер-класса вы сможете запустить такой кластер с нуля, используя предоставленные плейбуки ansible.

Слайды

Джошуа Дрейк

Command Prompt, Inc.

Ведущий консультант

Репликация Postgres на практике

В ходе данного мастер-класса мы обсудим потоковую и логическую репликацию с точки зрения практика, включая вопросы нативных технологий репликации Postgres, конфигурации и управления ими. Мы также обсудим производительность и недостатки различных архитектур, таких как sync vs async и пр. По итогам слушатели смогут провести конфигурацию развертывания базовой репликации с HOT Standby, а также приобретут понимание других технологий, таких как Point in Time Recovery и каскадная репликация.

Джошуа Дрейк

Command Prompt, Inc.

Ведущий консультант

Производительность и эксплуатация Postgres

Когда вы оптимизируете Postgres, обычно вопросы эксплуатации оказываются задвинуты на обочину. Каким образом наладить autovacuum? Почему bloat? Из-за чего я получаю IO spikes? Как мне заставить RDS правильно себя вести?! Почему коммиты при репликации происходят так медленно? Ответ на все эти вопросы лежит в понимании взаимосвязи между надлежащей эксплуатацией Postgres и его производительностью. Приглашаю присоединиться к увлекательному 3-часовому путешествию по хитрому миру отладки Postgres!

Мирослав Шедиви

solute GmbH

Старший разработчик ПО

Асинхронный Python и PostgreSQL с использованием asyncpg

Возможно, Python не самый быстрый язык программирования на CPU, но быстрая и простая разработка на нем экономит массу усилий того, кто находится между креслом и клавиатурой. Поскольку программные клиенты базы данных большую часть времени находятся в ожидании отклика от сервера базы данных, аснихронная функциональность Python, ставшая доступной в последних версиях (3.5+), может оказаться полезной для значительной оптимизации скорости работы приложения за счет того, что время подготовки ответа сервером может быть использовано приложением для работы над другими задачами. Асинхронный интерфейс между Python и PostgreSQL называется "asyncpg". В ходе мастер-класса я разберу работу с данной библиотекой и напишу короткое приложение, использую некоторые полезные свойства библиотеки.

Мирослав Шедиви

solute GmbH

Старший разработчик ПО

Python и PostgreSQL с использованием psycopg2

Python, может быть, не самый быстрый язык программирования на CPU, но быстрая и простая разработка на нем экономит массу усилий того, кто находится между креслом и клавиатурой. В ходе мастер-класса мы разберем "psycopg2" - наиболее популярную библиотеку для доступа к серверу PostgreSQL, а также напишем небольшое приложение, используя некоторые его полезные свойства.

Альваро Эрнандес

OnGres

Миграция с Oracle на PostgreSQL

Хватит платить за яхту Ларри!

PostgreSQL - это полнофункциональная система управления базами данных с открытым кодом уровня предприятия, которая дважды кряду получает статус "СУБД года". И это также наилучший кандидат для миграции с Oracle. PostgreSQL поддерживает продвинутый SQL, она проста в администрировании, а pl/pgsql является заменой ораклового PL/SQL. Пора прекратить тратить сотни тысяч или миллионы долларов на лицензии для СУБД - лучше направьте эти деньги на инвестиции в свою команду, улучшение инфраструктуры или ПО.

Присоединяйтесь к мастер-классу, чтобы за полдня изучить лучшие практики, инструменты и некоторые секреты успешного мигрирования с Oracle на PostgreSQL. Учитесь у команды, которая провела миграцию на PostgreSQL Blackberry на GCP с 150М пользователей с практически нулевым временем простоя, и у ключевого создателя orafce - набора Oracle-совместимых функций поверх PostgreSQL.