The Ultimate Tool: Xobot IDE


Andrey Hitrin

JKiss.org

Software Developer

Alexander Fedorov

ArSysOp

Director of Development

IIn the world of programming, the creation of source code for databases "procedural extensions" is something solitary. Most DBMS offers procedural languages and "stored procedures" to create procedural extensions. In Postgres the number of supported procedural languages has already exceeded a dozen.

Traditionally, stored procedures have many applications: it is difficult to resist the attraction to perform a data operation directly in the storage, especially in the Enterprise development. This approach quickly leads to the spreading of the business logic and dramatically increases the cost of support and development of the system as a whole.

The life cycle of stored procedures makes it difficult to use standard Change Management tools and practices. It is necessary to adapt the operations upon the stored procedures to the standards of Change Management, yet staying within the comfortable development practices.

We'll look at the typical tasks of the procedural extensions development and discuss the solutions we are implementing in the Xobot IDE.

Slides →

Video available to conference participants only. Account

Андрей Хитрин

JKiss.org

Разработчик

Александр Федоров

ArSysOp

CEO

Самый важный инструмент: Xobot IDE

В мире программирования особняком стоит создание исходного кода для "процедурных расширений" баз данных. Большинство СУБД предлагает процедурные языки и "хранимые процедуры" для создания процедурных расширений. В Postgres количество поддерживаемых официально и не очень процедурных языков уже перевалило за десяток.

Традиционно на хранимые процедуры возлагают множество задач: трудно устоять перед соблазном исполнить операцию над данными непосредственно в хранилище, особенно в Enterprise разработке. Такой подход довольно быстро приводит к размазыванию бизнес-логики по телу хранимых процедур и резко повышает стоимость поддержки и развития системы в целом.

Особенности жизненного цикла хранимых процедур затрудняют применение стандартных инструментов и практик по контролю изменений. Необходимо адаптировать работу с хранимыми процедурами к стандартам Change Management, оставаясь в рамках привычных для разработчика действий.

Мы рассмотрим проблемы разработки процедурных расширений и обсудим решения, которые мы реализуем в IDE XOBOT.