title

text

Alexey Fadeev
Alexey Fadeev Sibedge
13:00 20 June
22 мин

Building plv8: from a binary archive to a compact Docker image

The plv8 extension is very underestimated, though it can help simplify development for a variety of tasks. It's been a year since we started using this extension in our projects. The main reason for its low popularity is the complexity of building. Moreover, building plv8 requires a lot of traffic and disc space for temporary files. That's why we decided to build plv8 and provide ready-made binaries freely to anyone interested, not just as an offering for our customers. First, we made the binaries available on GitHub. Then we created a Docker image for Postgres with pre-installed plv8 based on Debian. It looked too heavy to us, and we decided to check Alpine, however, building it for Alpine appeared to be more complicated than we expected. I'll explain what difficulties we faced and how we managed to overcome them. I will also list the tasks that can be solved with plv8 and provide advice on how to make the development process more convenient. I will also share the links to our Docker images for the latest Postgres 13 and Postgres 14 releases, that are compact and can be used for any types of tasks.

слайды

Видео

Видео доступно только участникам мероприятия, выполнившим вход в личный кабинет

Другие доклады

  • Igor Kosenkov
    Igor Kosenkov Postgres Professional
    22 мин

    Disaster-tolerant cluster without data loss

    Disaster-tolerant cluster implies minimal data loss in the event of the main data center disaster and switching to the backup data center. The data loss takes place due to the asynchronous replication between the main data center and the backup one. However, there's a solution that can resolve the existing problem and ensure zero data loss in the case of the main data center disaster. My talk covers this solution for zero data loss.

  • Mikhail Tsvetkov
    Mikhail Tsvetkov эксперт
    45 мин

    Speeding up databases using non-traditional methods

    As opposed to in-memory DBMSs, traditional disc database management systems have an inherent physical limitation. It's their storage system which is by several orders of magnitude slower than CPU operation memory, even in the case of All-Flash NVM. It becomes especially critical for the development of business analytics apps and OLAP scenarios on disc DBMS. We will consider a number how-tos for improving the performance of traditional DBMSs, and then offer a new storage-centric approach to hardware-based speed-up for disc DBMSs.

  • Andrey Zubkov
    Andrey Zubkov Postgres Professional
    45 мин

    Do you want to know what VACUUM has done?

    This talk is about our work on detailed vacuum workload statistics collection by the statistics collector and about problem solutions and benefits it can provide.

  • Dmitry Vasilyev
    Dmitry Vasilyev Postgres Professional
    45 мин

    Cloud PostgreSQL in Ozon: what's under the hood?

    My talk covers PostgreSQL infrastructure in Ozon: - how do we tune virtual machines (KVM); - which version control system we have created; - which drivers we make and how it relates to fault tolerance and load balancing; - how do we make "hot" upgrades for the parameters of our virtual machines.

title

text

Алексей Фадеев
Алексей Фадеев Sibedge Старший разработчик .NET, евангелист Postgres.
13:00 20 июня
22 мин

Сборка plv8: от архива с бинарниками до компактного докер-образа

Расширение plv8 очень недооценено, хотя оно позволяет значительно упростить разработку для ряда задач. Уже год как мы используем его в наших проектах. Но главная причина низкой популярности – сложность сборки расширения, к тому же требующей много трафика и места на диске для временных файлов. Поэтому мы решили собирать plv8 сами и поставлять готовые бинарники (не только поставлять нашим заказчикам, а вообще выложить в открытый доступ). Сначала просто выложили бинарные файлы на github. Потом сделали докер-образ Postgres с уже установленным plv8 на основе Debian. Образ получился тяжеловатым, поэтому стали смотреть в сторону alpine, но сборка под alpine оказалась сложнее, чем мы предполагали. Я расскажу, с какими трудностями мы столкнулись и как их преодолели. Так же кратко расскажу, для каких задач хорошо подходит plv8 и как сделать процесс разработки удобнее. И, конечно, поделюсь ссылками на наши докер-образы для последних версий Postgres 13 и 14, действительно компактные и открытые для любого использования.

Слайды

Фадеев.pptx

Видео

Видео доступно участникам мероприятия, выполнившим вход в личный кабинет

Другие доклады

  • Bruce Momjian
    Bruce Momjian EDB Vice President, Postgres Evangelist
    45 мин
  • Павел Толмачев
    Павел Толмачев Postgres Professional Специалист образовательного отдела
    45 мин

    Коллапс в планах запросов. Достигаем и управляем

    Чем больше таблиц участвует в запросе, тем сложнее планировщику выбрать подходящий план выполнения (увеличивается время и используемая память). Как бы подсказать планировщику, что лучше эту пару таблиц соединить первой, а остальные - потом? Как поступить, если видно, что часть запроса можно улучшить, но оптимизатор этого не делает? В докладе я расскажу про управление порядком соединений - вы узнаете, как можно повлиять на формирование плана запроса стандартными способами "ванильного" PostgreSQL.

  • Юрий Жуковец
    Юрий Жуковец ЗАО Дилжитал-Дизайн Архитектор ПО
    22 мин

    Временные таблицы как наследие перехода с MS SQL. Проблемы, оптимизация, подходы

    Использование временных таблиц в PG несет дополнительные проблемы использования ресурсов сервера и скорости работы запросов. Но бывает, что без них никак не обойтись, особенно при миграции кода с MS SQL, если первичный код их активно использовал при наличии логики на уровне БД. Доклад посвящен проблемам использования временных таблиц при переходе с MS SQL и подходам к их решению стандартными возможностями PG в зависимости от сценариев в коде.

  • Алексей Борщев
    Алексей Борщев Postgres Professional Инженер
    22 мин

    NULLs в Postgres

    Доклад посвящён реализации специального значения NULL в бд PostgreSQL: * Что такое NULL? * Как он обрабатывается различными функциями? * Как хранится в БД? * Индексирование NULL