psycopg3: all the love between Python and PostgreSQL


Daniele Varrazzo

Codice Lieve

Director

16:00 (UTC+3) , english

Python is today one of the most used programming languages in the world: simple to learn and to use and ready to interface to any known service and protocol. psycopg2 is the most used PostgreSQL driver for Python: it offers good performance and makes the communication between the language and the database as smooth as possible.

Python has evolved enormously in the past years and its first-class support for async programming is changing the way new programs are written. PostgreSQL has evolved too: a new generation of the driver is needed to make the most of all the features it has to offer.

psycopg3 is the new generation of the most used Python-PostgreSQL adapter: it offers a familiar interface and smooth upgrade path, but behind the scenes it is engineered to obtain the best performance from the database and the language: async programming, prepared statements, binary parameters.

psycopg3 is also experimenting with innovative JSONB support and query pipelining! Come and discover the forefront of the research between your most loved language and database!


Русский


English

psycopg3: как Питон полюбил Постгрес


Daniele Varrazzo

Codice Lieve

Директор

16:00 (UTC+3) , english

На сегодняшний день Python является одним из наиболее часто используемых языков программирования в мире. Он прост в изучении и использовании и легко совместим с любыми известными сервисами и протоколами. psycopg2 - наиболее часто используемый драйвер PostgreSQL для Python: он обеспечивает хорошую производительность и делает взаимодействие между ЯП и СУБД максимально удобным.

За последние годы Python существенно изменился, и его первоклассная поддержка асинхронного программирования меняет способ написания новых программ. В PostgreSQL также было внесено множество изменений, поэтому требуется новое поколение драйвера, который позволит питонистам использовать все возможности Postgres по максимуму.

psycopg3 - это новое поколение наиболее часто используемой библиотеки-адаптера Python-PostgreSQL: она предлагает знакомый интерфейс и удобный процесс обновления, кроме того, она спроектирована для получения максимальной производительности от базы данных и ЯП: она поддерживает асинхронное программирование, связываемые переменные (prepared statements), двоичные параметры.

psycopg3 также экспериментирует с инновационной поддержкой JSONB и конвейерной обработкой запросов! Приходите и узнайте, что нового происходит на стыке вашего любимого языка программирования и базы данных!