Plv8 Framework: plv8 development in IDE with ES6, debugging, autotests and deployment


Alexey Fadeev

sibedge

Senior .NET Developer, Postgres Evangelist

17:00

Many application developers prefer not to have logic on the DB side (in functions) as there are no suitable software development tools, especially for development teams. In the plv8 case, the situation worsens as this function contains both SQL and JavaScript code, and popular IDEs have no support for such a symbiosis. At this tutorial, I will introduce my development named "Plv8 Framework", which considerably simplifies the creation of code on plv8.

The gist is as follows: the JS code that is executed on the DB side can run on the developer's local computer by using node.js, which works on the same v8 interpreter. The plv8.execute special function is replaced by a function from the pg-native npm library, which calls the outer DBMS. I will demonstrate a set of tools chosen by me that enables the following:
- writing JS code in the IDE you prefer and enjoy syntax highlight;
- code debugging in real time (with breakpoint, watch, etc.);
- writing of auto-tests (unit-tests), with a variety of options: Postgres, SQLite, mocks;
- deploying your code in the DBMS;
- usage of additional npm packages (the issue is that all code of the plv8-based function should be included in the function's body, in one file).

You can use this tool regardless of the programming language that you use for the backend. However, it becomes more flexible if you use languages with static typing (like Java, C#, etc.). For the tasks where the backend is an intermediate layer between the frontend and DBMS, logic (or its part) can be placed in plv8/js with dynamic typing, which will simplify the development process.

In addition to the development of new functions on plv8, the framework provides a set of ready-made functions for CRUD operations. These functions are universal, they aren't tied to a certain database structure, and they can work in any project. If you use them, you can do less backend development, in some projects to a very significant extent.

The installation of the plv8 extension is the most complicated part of working with it. However, I have good news: my colleagues prepared Docker files and Docker images for PostgreSQL 13 with pre-installed plv8! So your start with plv8 will be super simple: you need to deploy the Docker container using just one command!
Docker file: PostgreSQL 13 + plv8 v2.13.15
Demo project for you to participate in the tutorial
For the tutorial, you need to install the following:
Node.js (the most desirable is LTS)
IDE for JS (i.e., free Visual Studio Code)
GraphQL Playground

Plv8 Framework: разработка на plv8 в IDE, с ES6, отладкой, автотестами и деплоем


Алексей Фадеев

sibedge

Старший разработчик .NET, евангелист Postgres

17:00

Многие разработчики прикладного ПО не любят выносить логику на сторону БД (в функции) из-за отсутствия удобных средств разработки, особенно командной. С plv8 ситуация осложняется тем, что функция содержит симбиоз кода SQL и JavaScript, популярные IDE такое не поддерживают. На этом мастер классе я представлю свою разработку "Plv8 Framework", позволяющую существенно облегчить создание кода на plv8.

Суть в следующем: тот же JS-код, который будет выполняться на стороне БД, можно запустить локально, прямо на машине разработчика, с помощью node.js, который работает на основе того же интерпретатора v8. Спецфункция plv8.execute подменяется на функцию из npm-библиотеки pg-native, т.е. происходит обращение к внешней СУБД. Я продемонстрирую авторский набор средств, позволяющий:
- писать js-код в вашей любимой IDE с подсветкой синтаксиса;
- отлаживать код в реальном времени (с breakpoint, watch и т.д.);
- писать автотесты (unit-тесты), с вариантами: постгрес, SQLite, моки;
- выполнять deploy кода в СУБД;
- использовать дополнительные npm-пакеты (проблема в том, что весь код функции на plv8 должен находиться в теле этой функции, т.е. в одном файле).

Инструмент можно использовать независимо от того, на чём вы разрабатываете бэкенд. Но особенную гибкость он придаёт, если вы используете языки со статической типизацией (java, C# и т.д.). Например для задач, где бэкенд является промежуточным слоем между фронтендом и СУБД, логика (или её часть) может быть вынесена в plv8/js с динамической типизацией, что может весьма облегчить процесс разработки.

Помимо возможности разрабатывать новые функции на plv8, фреймворк предоставляет набор готовых функций для выполнения CRUD-операций. Функции универсальные, не привязаны к структуре конкретной БД и могут работать на любых проектах. Их использование поможет сократить объём бэкенд разработки, на некоторых проектах - значительно.

Пожалуй, самое сложное с plv8 - установить это расширение. Но у меня хорошая новость: мои коллеги помогли подготовить докер-файлы и докер-образы для PostgreSQL версии 13 с уже установленным plv8! Теперь начать разработку на plv8 просто: нужно лишь развернуть контейнер одной командой.
Докер-файл: PostgreSQL 13 + plv8 v2.13.15
Демо-проект для участия в мастер-классе
Так же для мастер-класса пригодятся:
Node.js (желательно LTS)
IDE для js (например, бесплатная Visual Studio Code)
GraphQL Playground